Forums at duplessisgolf

Move Less ... Get Good!

Access over 90 Lesson Videos by PGA Professional Ross duPlessis ... learn more
Richard
Hi Ross...had left knee replacement on jan. 8. Prior to that, my game's the best ever with your system. My doc figures april to may when I can resume play...starting easy, with no full swings at first.

I had a PT tell me no more full turn on that new joint...rather disconcerting. I'm leaning towards toeing my left foot out more and stepping thru with my right after impact to ease the torque.

Any thoughts?

Thanks, Rick
Ross
I'm not a doctor, but have had many students with both hip and knee replacements that had no issues turning.  I would ask them if there was pain or restricted movement, and most of the time no issues.  You have to make the call.  I would for sure take it easy at first.  I have been surprised over the years at how well most students do after these replacements.  I think pain is the key.  If there's pain stop. 

I think flaring the front foot is a great idea.  It creates more freedom to rotate and is easier on the knee.

Move Less ... Get Good!   

DUPLESSISGOLF
Richard
Hello again Ross...well, I'm 11 weeks into my new left knee, I see my doc next week, and have been to the range 3 times in the last 4 days. Taking it REAL easy, hitting only 54º wedge, PW, 8 and 6 irons to "get a feel of it".